Back in the Saddle Again

Let’s face it.  It’s been awhile since I last posted.  A real long while.  Sometimes life has a way of redirecting our energies.  My last post, way back in April 2011, had me whisking my toddler far off to Greece in a solo-parenting traveling adventure.  It was a mind opening experience.  I grew a lot as a traveler and as a mother.  Most importantly, I discovered new relationship potential between parent and child.

Since then, our four person family took an extended six week trip to Greece in the thick of the summer heat.  While we explored some of the highlights of mainland Greece (Athens, Mesolongi, Delphi, Meteora, and Thiva), the bulk of our time was spent on the bean shaped Island of Chios, where my Yiayia (that’s Greek for grandmother) was born and lived up until Greece became engulfed in the aftermath of WWII.  The independent little island is situated just a hop, skip, and a jump across the 8km wide Chios Straight from Turkey.  It was truly an amazing experience.  We were embraced wholeheartedly by family we had never met.  I hope to get some posts out there in the future about our experiences and the explorations we undertook on our stay in Greece.  But for now, I’m going to dive into some more ‘heady’ posts that have been surfacing in my brain.

I hope you will enjoy some of the new flavors I am bringing to this small sector of the blogosphere.  Giddyup.

~ by urbanwandernlust on December 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
