We’re having a heat wave, a tropical heat wave.

Our toddler at the number 6 tee box with Grandpa.

Today was a great day to hit the golf course.  Now cue the look on my father-in-law’s face.  I can visualize the shocked expression of disbelief.  He is the guy who puts more mileage in on the golf course than anyone else I know.  He played 954 nine hole rounds total this past 2010 season, NINE HUNDRED AND FIFTY FOUR!   You heard that correctly.  That number even pales in comparision to his all time high of 1,010 nine hole rounds.  I wonder how the pros on the PGA tour stack up?   Yes, my father-in-law is a regular fixture out on the course, smacking the little white ball and hunting for it in the tall grass. Last year he played 894 of those rounds on the rolling green grass located on the western fringes of his small North Dakota hometown, overlooking Storm Lake and its associated wildlife refuge.

 My father-in-law picked up golf sometime in his 20’s and then passed his love of the game on down to his three sons, who, if they had the money (and the luxury of being retired), would spend almost as much time on the course as he does.  They can have their pipe dreams too.  So why is it that I can’t seem to get my husband out on the golf course in the middle of winter?  Should I mention that Storm Lake is the very same lake I was standing next to, enjoying the creaking of the frozen ice, just after midnight on New Year’s Eve1999, when my husband proposed to me.  On the 7th tee box.

 I’ve been out there with my husband on the course during all kinds of weather and all kinds of situations – yes, that is a photo of me nursing on the golf cart – but I’ll save that digression for another blog post…  I’ve urged him with the, “I go golfing with you, why can’t you at least try cross country skiing once with me?”  Just once, is that so much to ask?  He’s not biting on that hook.  It would seem like a natural transition, don’t you think?  Hit the links in the spring, summer, and fall, and then live out your golf fantasies while cross country skiing on any of the numerous Twin Cities golf courses groomed for the sport, you know, to really develop a feel for the terrain.  I think it could really improve his golf  game.  No dice.  I’ve even tried to convince him to try some snow golfing north of the cities near Bunker Lake Regional Park at Majestic Oaks Golf Club, a place holding their inaugural 2011 ‘Frozen Balls Open’ this Sunday on February 13th.  Yeah, even that isn’t doing it.  Maybe he knows something about frozen balls that I don’t.

Lunch on the go.

 I guess I just gotta keep on keeping on.  It was a lovely twenty-eight degrees today and thankfully I have some compadres who are willing to brave the cold and get out to traverse the local terrain.  What a nice break from the brutal January weather.  Mother nature’s seeming exercise in contrasts for us all – from the face freezing cold to a day like today when I could strip off my outer upper layers down to my tank top, while outside my car, in preparation to put on my skiing gear.  I could have just as well been sitting on the beach in Playa del Carmen.  That’s how good it felt.  I lingered there for a few moments, eventually coming to my senses and threw on a thermal poly shirt and my fleece liner from my winter jacket.  I like these hints of the changes to come.  I even heard birds singing merrily along just outside my living room window in the middle of the day last week.  A little pregame warm up for the big show coming in the spring.  I hear it’s supposed to stay above 30 during the day all next wek.  Maybe even 45 on Wednesday or Thursday.  That’s mother nature, continually mixing it up for us all.  Hope to see you out there soaking up the heat wave…

~ by urbanwandernlust on February 13, 2011.

4 Responses to “We’re having a heat wave, a tropical heat wave.”

  1. I agree, Brian should suck it up and head out with you once or twice. Shared experiences! I may be projecting here, but being married to his brother I can tell you Brent would be the same way. Brent doesn’t like the cold. I like to think if I told him how much it would mean to me yada yada yada he would comply and join me. We will never know though because I share the same adversion to cold weather. No matter how many layers I have I don’t like how the chilly air feels against my skin. I prefer the heat! Actually, I prefer 76 degrees…
    I think I digressed from my original point. Children are all around me and we are going to be late for Sunday Schol. Again. BTW – I couldn’t even tell you were nursing Evelyn. We should start a website that just has nursing photos so people would realize you can’t see anything when you have a child sucking on your boob! The child is in the way… duh! 😉

    • 76 degrees is rather nice, isn’t it? Do you think you could live somewhere that was around that temp all year long, or do you think you would crave the variability in temps? It would be interesting to try it out – hmm, now where would I have to go in the world to get that? And I agree wholeheartedly about nursing in public. Most people don’t even realize you are doing it – they have to practically stick their head in there as well to know what is going on. Now that would be uncomfortable.

  2. I, too, am loving this weather! I’ve been out walking all winter, but this is sooooo much more pleasant! Josh has been hitting the golf dome every weekend in preparation for golf season. I figure I better learn how to golf before we retire, or I’ll never see him. 🙂

    • As my sister-in-law asked me once, “Is it a case of if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em?” Thankfully, I actually like to play – just not as much as the boys do. Maybe we will have to have a girls golfing outing sometime, you know, where the stakes aren’t so high. Then you can get a head start on retirement.

Leave a Reply

 
